Current Kampelman Fellows

Named for a longtime U.S. Ambassador to the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, Max Kampelman Fellows represent the next generation of American leaders in security policy, human rights, and strategic communications.

Christina Oh, Policy Fellow

In 2022, Christina Oh graduated with highest distinction from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a B.A. in Linguistics and a minor in Russian. She spent the spring of 2022 working with Ukrainian refugees in Berlin, after which she spent the summer as a legal clerk in New York. Christina was previously an intern with the Terrorism Research and Analysis Consortium, where she researched historical and contemporary terrorist organizations. Before that, she served as a research consultant with the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Communications Department to focus on right-wing extremism and propaganda and help publish the first comprehensive database of white-supremacist related crime in the United States. Christina is proficient in Korean, Spanish, and Russian.

Ashley Bradway, Policy Fellow

Ashley Bradway is a graduate student at Georgetown University’s Center for Security Studies studying military operations. She received her B.A. in International Politics from Georgetown in 2022. Ashley is learning Russian and spent the summer working for the U.S. State Department in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. Prior to that, Ashley studied nonproliferation issues as an intern at the State Department’s Bureau of Arms Control, Verification, and Compliance and the Nuclear Threat Initiative. She also interned at NASA’s Office for International and Interagency Relations. In her free time, Ashley enjoys going to the gym, cooking new meals, and learning about space.

Desiree Winns, Communications Fellow

Desirée Winns is a graduate student studying international affairs at The George Washington University. A former film major, she graduated with honors and her B.A. in Political Science from the University of Central Florida in May 2022. During her time at UCF, Desiree worked as a research assistant for retired U.S. Ambassador Harriet Elam-Thomas and was selected to represent her university at the Naval Academy Foreign Affairs Conference. She has interned for the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Aspen Institute, the Carter Center, and the Women’s Congressional Policy Institute. Desiree speaks German and is presently learning Russian. A lifelong chess player, Desiree spends her free time improving her game strategy, reading, writing, and exploring DC.

Former Kampelman Fellows

  • Jennie Piotrzkowski: Summer 2022 (Communications)
  • Jessika Nebrat: Summer 2022 (Policy)
  • Mollie Blum: Summer 2022 (Policy)
  • Rowan Baker: Summer – Fall 2021 (Policy)
  • Joelle Besch: Summer 2021 (Policy)
  • Shruti Bhatt: Spring 2019 (Communications)
  • Erick Boone: Fall 2019 – Spring 2020 (Policy)
  • Taylor Buck: Spring 2021 (Policy)
  • Teresa Cardenas: Summer 2018 (Communications)
  • Andrew Carroll: Summer 2019 (Policy)
  • Emma Derr: Fall 2020 – Spring 2021 (Communications)
  • Thea Dunlevie: Fall 2018 (Policy)
  • Zantana Ephrem: Fall 2020 (Policy)
  • Harrison William Prescott Floyd: Spring 2019 (Policy)
  • Felicia Garcia: Summer 2018 (Policy)
  • Berke Gursoy: Summer 2018 (Policy)
  • Nathaniel Haas: Fall 2021 (Policy)
  • Ryn Hintz: Spring 2022 (Policy)
  • Paulina Kanburiyan: Spring 2022 (Policy)
  • Courtney Kaufman: Spring 2020 (Policy)
  • Alexandre Le Coz: Spring 2019 (Policy)
  • Annie Lentz: Summer – Fall 2019 (Communications)
  • Sean McAndrews: Summer 2018 (Policy)
  • Juliet Michaelson: Fall 2019 (Policy)
  • Michelle Ngirbabul: Fall 2020 (Policy)
  • Harrison Nugent: Spring 2021 (Policy)
  • Daniela Ondraskova: Summer 2019 (Policy)
  • Katya Sankow: Spring – Summer 2021 (Communications)
  • Yena Seo: Fall 2018 (Communications)            
  • Mia Speier: Spring 2020 (Communications)
  • Cade Stone: Fall 2018 (Policy)
  • Arwen Struthers: Fall 2021 (Communications)
  • Worth Talley: Spring 2022 (Communications)