The Helsinki Commission consists of 21 Commissioners, 18 of whom come from the U.S. Congress. Nine Senators and nine Representatives – five from the majority and four from the minority in each chamber – are selected by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House, respectively. The remaining three Commissioners are appointed by the President of the United States from the Departments of State, Defense and Commerce, usually at the Assistant Secretary level.

U.S. House of Representatives

  • Chairman Alcee L. Hastings, Florida
  • Ranking Member Joe Wilson, South Carolina
  • Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama
  • Steve Cohen, Tennessee
  • Brian Fitzpatrick, Pennsylvania
  • Richard Hudson, North Carolina
  • Sheila Jackson Lee, Texas
  • Gwen Moore, Wisconsin

U.S Senate

  • Co-Chairman Roger F. Wicker, Mississippi
  • Ranking Member Benjamin L. Cardin, Maryland
  • John Boozman, Arkansas
  • Cory Gardner, Colorado
  • Marco Rubio, Florida
  • Jeanne Shaheen, New Hampshire
  • Thom Tillis, North Carolina
  • Tom Udall, New Mexico
  • Sheldon Whitehouse, Rhode Island

Executive Branch

Past Commissioners