Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe


An independant agency of the United States Government charged with monitoring and encouraging compliance with the Helsinki Final Act and other commitments of the 55 countries participating in the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).


234 Ford House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-6460
Hon. Christopher H. Smith, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
Media Contact: Neil Simon
June 9, 2010



WASHINGTON­— U.S. Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD), Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission), and Co-Chairman Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL) announced today they will host a hearing:

“Threats to Free Media in the OSCE Region”

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

11:00 a.m.

SVC 210/212 (Capitol Visitor Center)

The Commission hearing will examine the significant challenges faced by journalists and independent media throughout the OSCE region. Among top concerns are physical threats and violence targeting journalists, including the murder of scores of investigative reporters. The Commission remains concerned over a variety of policies, including criminal defamation laws, which have a chilling effect on media freedoms, and tight restrictions on the Internet and new media technologies.

Witnesses scheduled to testify:

- Ms. Dunja Mijatovic, OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media
- Mr. Sam Patten, Senior Program Manager for Eurasia, Freedom House
- Mr. Muzaffar Suleymanov, Research Associate for Europe and Central Asia, Committee to Protect Journalists


The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the U.S. Helsinki Commission, is an independent agency of the Federal Government charged with monitoring compliance with the Helsinki Accords and advancing comprehensive security through promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental and military cooperation in 56 countries. The Commission consists of nine members from the U.S. Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce.


Freedom of the Media


Recent Events

June 2015

April 2015

March 2015

February 2015

December 2014

November 2014

October 2014

July 2014

May 2014

Click here for the previous year's Events