Press Releases
Photo Gallery

Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Chairman
Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
July 8, 2010


Resolution on Preventing Nuclear Proliferation is Approved by International Security Panel

OSLO, Norway — A measure authored by Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD) to counter the proliferation and illicit transfer of nuclear weapons today passed an international security panel.

The measure, also supported by Senator Tom Udall (D-NM), calls on the 56 countries of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) to more effectively utilize their own parliaments and the OSCE to address nuclear security issues. It also urges member states to increase transparency and root out corruption as part of the global effort to enhance nuclear security.

“As the most recent round of U.N. sanctions have demonstrated, nuclear security is of paramount importance not only to the four OSCE countries bordering Iran, but to countries around the world,” said Cardin, chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission). “We need to not only counter production of nuclear materials, but also stem the transfer of nuclear weapon technology. The OSCE must be united in its efforts to enhance the world’s nuclear security and hold those who refuse to do so accountable.”

Chairman Cardin secured passage of the measure in the third day of the meeting of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe Parliamentary Assembly. The resolution will now be considered for inclusion in the Assembly’s final document to be known as the Oslo Declaration, which will help set policy for the OSCE in the years ahead. Parliamentarians from the 56 participating OSCE countries will vote on the Declaration on Saturday.


The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the U.S. Helsinki Commission, is an independent agency of the Federal Government charged with monitoring compliance with the Helsinki Accords and advancing comprehensive security through promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental and military cooperation in 56 countries. The Commission consists of nine members from the U.S. Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce.

Media Contact: Shelly Han
# # #




Confidence and Security Building Measures
Conflict Prevention/Rehabilitation
Military Aspects of Security


Recent Press Releases

February 2015

July 2014

March 2012

February 2012

January 2012

November 2011

Click here for the previous year's Press Releases

CSCE :: Image Galleries
Please select an image gallery:
02/07/08 Anti-Semitism Hearing (Part 2) 1 Images
04/10/08 Iraqi Refugee Crisis 1 Images
Featured Photos 21 Images

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
Chairman Chris Smith speaks at the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly. (July 2015)