Press Releases
Photo Gallery

Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Chairman
Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
July 5, 2010


Assistant Senate Majority Leader to join 7-member bi-partisan delegation

WASHINGTON--Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD), Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission) will lead a bipartisan Congressional delegation to Oslo, Norway July 5 to July 11, 2010.

The full delegation includes:

Chairman Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD),

Commission Ranking Republican Member Congressman Chris Smith (R-NJ),

Assistant Senate Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL),

Commissioner Senator Tom Udall (D-NM),

Commissioner Representative Louise McIntosh Slaughter (D-NY),

Commissioner Representative Robert B. Aderholt (R-AL),

Representative Lloyd Doggett (D-TX).

The delegation will participate in the 19th Annual Session of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe Parliamentary Assembly (OSCE PA), carrying resolutions on nuclear security, Mediterranean cooperation, combating human trafficking and protecting investigative journalists.  Members will also push initiatives focusing on racism and xenophobia, and on the situation in Afghanistan.  The resolutions passed become the final Oslo Declaration – helping to steer the direction of the OSCE.

For a list of the Parliamentary Assembly sessions open to the press, see To arrange interviews, with the U.S. Delegation, contact Shelly Han at +1 (202) 351-1929 or

Members will also stop in Svalbard, Norway (average high temperature 45 degrees) to view the effects of climate change at the Arctic Circle and examine the Svalbard Global Seed Vault, a facility that preserves more than 400 million types of seeds from all over the world as a safeguard for future crop diversity.

A side trip is also planned to attend high-level meetings in Tallinn, Estonia. Estonia, among the most wired nations, has provided significant aid to Afghanistan recently leading efforts to deploy e-government systems that can make parliament and voting more transparent and efficient.


The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the U.S. Helsinki Commission, is an independent agency of the Federal Government charged with monitoring compliance with the Helsinki Accords and advancing comprehensive security through promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental and military cooperation in 56 countries. The Commission consists of nine members from the U.S. Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce.


Media Contact: Shelly Han
# # #




Citizenship and Political Rights
Combating Corruption
Confidence and Security Building Measures
Conflict Prevention/Rehabilitation
Economic Cooperation
Equality of Opportunity for Men and Women
Freedom of Association
Freedom of Movement
Freedom of Speech and Expression
Freedom of the Media
Freedom of Thought, Conscience, and Religion or Belief
International Humanitarian Law
Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons
Military Aspects of Security
National Minorities
OSCE Institutions/Structures/Meetings
Prevention of Torture
Property Restitution
Right of Peaceful Assembly
Rule of Law/Independence of Judiciary
Trafficking in Human Beings


Recent Press Releases

May 2016

April 2016

February 2016

August 2015

June 2015

February 2015

January 2015

December 2014

Click here for the previous year's Press Releases

CSCE :: Image Galleries
Please select an image gallery:
02/07/08 Anti-Semitism Hearing (Part 2) 1 Images
04/10/08 Iraqi Refugee Crisis 1 Images
Featured Photos 21 Images

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
Chairman Chris Smith meets with Serbian Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic in Vienna, Austria. (Feb. 2015)