234 Ford House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-6460
Hon. Christopher H. Smith, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
Media Contact: Neil Simon
January 21, 2010


WASHINGTON—Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD), Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission), and Co-Chairman Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL) will hold a hearing:

“Democratic Change and Challenges in Moldova”
Thursday, January 21, 2010
4:30 p.m.
485 Russell Senate Office Building

2009 was a year of tremendous political change in Moldova as nearly a decade of Communist rule came to an end. Following two elections and massive street protests, Moldova’s ruling coalition, the Alliance for European Integration, still lacks the 61 votes needed in parliament to elect a new president. As the poorest country in Europe in the midst of a global economic downturn, a prolonged impasse poses serious challenges to reform and recovery in Moldova.

Please join us in welcoming Prime Minister Vlad Filat on his first official visit to Washington and hearing his assessment on the political future of his country and new opportunities in U.S.-Moldova relations.

The following witness is scheduled to testify:

His Excellency Vlad Filat, Prime Minister of the Republic of Moldova

The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the U.S. Helsinki Commission, is an independent agency of the Federal Government charged with monitoring compliance with the Helsinki Accords and advancing comprehensive security through promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental and military cooperation in 56 countries. The Commission consists of nine members from the U.S. Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce.




Recent Events

June 2011

May 2010

January 2010

October 2009

August 2009

September 2008

Click here for the previous year's Events

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
The panel of the Commission hearing on Northern Ireland: Mrs. Geraldine Finucane (L), Professor Kieran McEvoy (C), and Anne Cadwallader (R). (March 2015)