Press Releases
Photo Gallery

Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
January 4, 2008


Hastings and Kanerva Will Hold Press Conference in Helsinki, Finland Directly Following Meeting

(Tbilisi, Georgia) Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission) will meet with Finland’s Foreign Minister Ilkka Kanerva on Monday, January 7 in Helsinki, Finland. Hastings, who is currently leading the election observation mission in the Republic of Georgia on behalf of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), has been asked by Foreign Minister Kanerva to brief him on conclusions of the election. Hastings also plans to discuss Russia, Kosovo, and Finland’s leadership as the new Chairman-in-Office (CiO) of the OSCE. Foreign Minister Kanerva assumed the Chairmanship of the OSCE on January 1, 2008.

Hastings will also hold a joint press conference directly following his meeting with Foreign Minister Kanerva at 12:00 p.m. at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs in Helsinki, Finland.

The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, is a U.S. Government agency that monitors progress in the implementation of the provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. The Commission consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense and Commerce.

Media Contact: Lale Mamaux
# # #






Recent Press Releases

May 2015

January 2015

July 2014

September 2012

May 2012

February 2012

November 2011

August 2011

July 2011

Click here for the previous year's Press Releases

CSCE :: Image Galleries
Please select an image gallery:
02/07/08 Anti-Semitism Hearing (Part 2) 1 Images
04/10/08 Iraqi Refugee Crisis 1 Images
Featured Photos 21 Images

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
The panel of the Commission hearing on Northern Ireland: Mrs. Geraldine Finucane (L), Professor Kieran McEvoy (C), and Anne Cadwallader (R). (March 2015)