Press Releases
Photo Gallery

Senator Sam Brownback, Chairman
Rep. Christopher H. Smith, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
November 10, 2005


(Washington) - The United States Helsinki Commission released today a staff report on the Organization on Security and Cooperation in Europe’s (OSCE’s) 2005 Human Dimension Implementation Meeting. 
The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, is a U.S. Government agency that monitors progress in the implementation of the provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords.  The Commission consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense and Commerce.
According to the U.S. Helsinki Commission report, the HDIM, held in Warsaw, Poland, from September 19-30, drew record attendance by 331 nongovernmental organizations from across the OSCE region.  The U.S. Delegation to the meeting was headed by former Assistant Secretary for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor Lorne Craner.
Each year the OSCE holds a meeting to review the participating States’ implementation of the human dimension commitments to which they had previously agreed.  This year’s meeting opened just as show trials began in Uzbekistan of individuals arrested following the May 13 government massacre in Andijon.  At the close of the meeting, a joint statement by non-governmental organizations called for an independent investigation of the massacre.
The report is available through the Helsinki Commission's web site at
Media Contact: James E. Geoffrey, II
# # #


OSCE Institutions/Structures/Meetings


Recent Press Releases

February 2016

October 2015

June 2015

February 2015

Click here for the previous year's Press Releases

CSCE :: Image Galleries
Please select an image gallery:
02/07/08 Anti-Semitism Hearing (Part 2) 1 Images
04/10/08 Iraqi Refugee Crisis 1 Images
Featured Photos 21 Images

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
“Helsinki Commission Chair Rep. Chris Smith is honored for his efforts to promote an end to the division of Cyprus, with Alexis Galanos, President, Union of Cypriot Municipalities and Mayor of Famagusta, Cyprus. (June 2015)