234 Ford House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-6460
Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
Media Contact: Lale Mamaux
June 3, 2008


Film Focuses on the Controversial Death of an Afghan Taxi Driver in US custody and Examines U.S. Policy on Torture and Interrogation

(Washington, D.C.) Congressman Alcee L. Hastings, Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe and Co-Chairman Senator Benjamin L. Cardin, will hold a public screening of the film, “Taxi to the Dark Side,” on Tuesday, June 3 at 4:30 p.m. in room HC-8 of the U.S. Capitol.

The film, directed by Alex Gibney, won the 2008 Oscar for “Best Documentary Feature.” Taxi to the Dark Side is the profoundly disturbing and tragic story of Dilawar, a 22-year-old Afghan taxi driver and father of two, who was falsely accused of a rocket attack against U.S. forces in 2002, detained at Bagram Air Base in Afghanistan, tortured, and ultimately murdered. Dilawar died alone and humiliated, shackled by his wrists to the ceiling of his cell.

The film has only been shown in a limited number of theaters and has not yet been aired on television or released for rent.

WHO: U.S. Helsinki Commission (Co-Chairmen Rep. Hastings and Senator Cardin)

WHAT: Film Screening of Taxi to the Dark Side

WHEN: Tuesday, June 3 at 4:30 p.m.

WHERE: HC-8 of the Capitol

The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, is a U.S. Government agency that monitors progress in the implementation of the provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. The Commission consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense and Commerce.




Prevention of Torture


Recent Events

May 2010

October 2009

March 2009

July 2008

June 2008

Click here for the previous year's Events

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
The panel of the Commission hearing on the Armenian Genocide: Van Z. Krikorian (L), Taner Akçam, Kenneth V. Hachikian (C), Karine Shnorhokian, and Elizabeth H. Prodromou (R). (April 2015)