234 Ford House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-6460
Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
Media Contact: Lale Mamaux
May 13, 2008


(Washington, D.C.) The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission) will hold a briefing examining the human rights situation and state of civil society in Uzbekistan three years after Andijan. The briefing will take place on Tuesday, May 13 at 10:00 a.m. in room B-318 Rayburn House Office Building.

On May 13, 2005, Uzbek security forces opened fire on demonstrators in Andijan. Hundreds were killed, and in the subsequent crackdown, restrictions were imposed to further stifle dissent. Despite sanctions by the European Union and the United States, Tashkent has refused to allow any independent investigations of the tragedy. While the human rights situation remains dire, the Government of Uzbekistan continues to pursue engagement with the EU and U.S., positioning itself as a key strategic ally in regional energy and security concerns.

Panelists will explore prospects for democratization in Uzbekistan and the possibilities of improving U.S.-Uzbek relations. Additionally, they will discuss the need for reforms in cotton production, Uzbekistan's largest source of income.

Panelists include:

Ms. Shahida Tulaganova, documentary film maker who launched the Uzbek-language newspaper "Siyosat"

Ms. Masha Lisitsyna, Human Rights Watch’s Europe and Central Asia Division

Ms. Juliette Williams, founding director of the Environmental Justice Foundation

Dr. Eric McGlinchey, Assistant Professor of Government and Politics, George Mason University

WHAT: U.S. Helsinki Commission Briefing on Human Rights in Uzbekistan Three Years After Andijan Events

WHEN: Tuesday, May 13 at 10:00 a.m.

WHERE: B-318 Rayburn House Office Building

The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, is a U.S. Government agency that monitors progress in the implementation of the provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. The Commission consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense and Commerce.




Recent Events

June 2015

November 2014

October 2014

May 2010

April 2010

October 2009

May 2008

May 2007

Click here for the previous year's Events

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
“Helsinki Commission Chair Rep. Chris Smith is honored for his efforts to promote an end to the division of Cyprus, with Alexis Galanos, President, Union of Cypriot Municipalities and Mayor of Famagusta, Cyprus. (June 2015)