234 Ford House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-6460
Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
Media Contact: Lale Mamaux
February 6, 2008


(Washington, D.C.) Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (the Helsinki Commission) and Co-Chairman Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD), will hold a hearing entitled “Georgia in 2008: Elections or Street Politics?” on Wednesday, February 6 at 2:30 p.m. in B-318 of the Rayburn House Office Building.

Over the last few months, Georgia has experienced considerable turmoil, with the violent confrontation between riot police and protesters in November, the imposition of a state of emergency, the resignation of President Mikheil Saakashvili and the holding of a snap presidential election in early January. Although President Saakashvili narrowly won re-election in the first-round, opposition leaders refuse to recognize the outcome and have pledged to launch another round of protests beginning on February 15 unless their extensive list of demands are met. The hearing will examine the ramifications of these developments for Georgia, the United States and NATO, which Georgia is hoping to join.

Chairman Hastings led the International Election Observation Mission for the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) and was accompanied by Congressman Lloyd Doggett (D-TX).

Testifying before the Commission will be:

Mr. Matthew Bryza, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Europe and Eurasia

H.E. Vasili Sikhuralidze, Ambassador of Georgia

Salome Zurabishvili, former Foreign Minister of Georgia, now opposition leader and head of the "Georgia's Way" Party

WHAT: Helsinki Commission to Hold Hearing on Ramifications of Presidential Elections in the Republic of Georgia

WHEN: Wednesday, February 6 at 2:30 p.m.

WHERE: B-318 of the Rayburn House Office Building

The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, is a U.S. Government agency that monitors progress in the implementation of the provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. The Commission consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense and Commerce.






Recent Events

September 2012

December 2011

May 2010

April 2010

October 2009

September 2008

March 2008

February 2008

April 2007

Click here for the previous year's Events

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
Chairman Chris Smith (L), Bill Browder, author of Red Notice, and David Kramer, Senior Director for Human Rights and Human Freedom at the McCain Institute. Courtesy of The McCain Institute for International Leadership. (Feb. 2015)