234 Ford House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-6460
Hon. Alcee L. Hastings, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
Media Contact: Lale Mamaux
October 18, 2007


Hearing to Focus on Parliamentary Perspective of Challenges Facing Today’s Europe

(Washington, DC) Congressman Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), Chairman of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission) and Co-Chairman Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD), will hold a hearing entitled, “A Parliamentary Perspective on Security and Cooperation in Today’s Europe,” on Thursday, October 18 at 9:30 a.m. in room B-318 of the Rayburn House Office Building. The hearing will focus on the challenges facing today’s Europe and the ability of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) to meet those challenges, which include unresolved conflicts and obstacles to democratic development in a region stretching across North America and Europe into the Caucasus and Central Asia. The OSCE has developed an array of institutions to cover a widening range of topics for dialogue among a growing number of participating States. It has also sought to engage partner countries in the Mediterranean region and now in Asia on issues of common concern and where OSCE experience may be of use.

In recent years, there have been efforts to reform the OSCE to enhance its effectiveness and ensure its accountability. Parliamentarians, through the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly and their own national parliaments, can play a critical role in the success of these efforts.

The following witness will testify at the hearing:

Göran Lennmarker, President, Parliamentary Assembly of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe and Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs in the Swedish parliament (Riksdag). 

The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, is a U.S. Government agency that monitors progress in the implementation of the provisions of the 1975 Helsinki Accords. The Commission consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense and Commerce.




OSCE Institutions/Structures/Meetings


Recent Events

January 2012

May 2010

October 2009

October 2007

Click here for the previous year's Events

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
“Helsinki Commission Chair Rep. Chris Smith is honored for his efforts to promote an end to the division of Cyprus, with Alexis Galanos, President, Union of Cypriot Municipalities and Mayor of Famagusta, Cyprus. (June 2015)