Press Releases
Photo Gallery

Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell, Chairman
Rep. Christopher H. Smith, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
May 7, 2001


Campbell, Smith to Lead Security, Human Rights Group

(Washington) - The United States Congress has filled its mandated slate of Members to the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, commonly called the Helsinki Commission with its origin stemming from the agreement to the 1975 Helsinki Final Act.

The Senate Republican leadership has appointed Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-CO) as Chairman of the Commission for the 107th Congress, a position which rotates between the House and Senate with each new Congress. House of Representatives Republican leaders appointed Rep. Christopher H. Smith (R-NJ) as Co-Chairman of the Commission. The appointment comes after Smith completed a two-year term as Chairman in the 106th Congress.

Chairman Campbell, the only Native American in the U.S. Senate and a former Deputy Sheriff, acknowledged the appointment as Commission Chairman as an opportunity to encourage stability throughout Europe’s emerging democracies.

“Combating corruption and protecting the rights of minorities will certainly be on my list of priorities as Chairman of the Helsinki Commission,” Campbell said.

“I look forward to building upon the Commission’s tradition of bipartisan cooperation in speaking out on behalf of individuals being denied their fundamental freedoms and basic human rights,” said Chairman Campbell. Instrumental in raising the growing problem of corruption and international crime within the framework of the 55-nation Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), Campbell plans to build upon this initiative during his chairmanship. Co-Chairman Smith expressed gratitude for the opportunity to continue his leadership in monitoring human rights developments among the now 55 OSCE countries.

“I am grateful that the House leadership has entrusted me with the task of leading the Helsinki Commission in its efforts to improve human rights throughout Europe,” Smith said. “When we see abuses like the car-bomb murder of Rosemary Nelson, a Northern Ireland human rights attorney and advocate, it is humbling to discover the price people pay for the sake of human dignity.”

The Helsinki Commission, created by Congress in 1976, consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine members from the U.S. House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce. The executive branch Commissioners are expected to be appointed in the near future.

U.S. House of Representatives:

Christopher H. Smith,
New Jersey, Co-Chairman

Frank R. Wolf, Virginia

Joseph R. Pitts, Pennsylvania

Zach Wamp, Tennessee

Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama

Steny H. Hoyer, Maryland

Benjamin L. Cardin, Maryland

Louise McIntosh Slaughter, New York

Alcee L. Hastings, Florida
U.S. Senate:

Ben Nighthorse Campbell,
Colorado, Chairman

Kay Bailey Hutchison, Texas

Sam Brownback, Kansas

Gordon H. Smith, Oregon

George V. Voinovich, Ohio

Christopher J. Dodd, Connecticut

Bob Graham, Florida

Russell D. Feingold, Wisconsin

Hillary Rodham Clinton, New York

The Commission convenes public hearings and briefings with expert witnesses on OSCE-related issues; issues public reports concerning implementation of OSCE commitments in participating States; publishes periodic CSCE Digest articles with up-to-date information on OSCE developments and Commission activities; and organizes official delegations to participating States and OSCE meetings to address and assess democratic, economic, and human rights developments firsthand.

The Commission contributes to the formulation of U.S. policy on the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) and takes part in its execution, including through Member and staff participation on U.S. Delegations to OSCE meetings and in certain OSCE bodies. Members of the Commission have regular contact with parliamentarians, government officials, NGOs, and private individuals from other OSCE participating States.

Media Contact: Ben Anderson
# # #


Combating Corruption
National Minorities
Rule of Law/Independence of Judiciary


Recent Press Releases

June 2015

April 2015

February 2015

September 2014

August 2014

July 2014

February 2012

November 2011

Click here for the previous year's Press Releases

CSCE :: Image Galleries
Please select an image gallery:
02/07/08 Anti-Semitism Hearing (Part 2) 1 Images
04/10/08 Iraqi Refugee Crisis 1 Images
Featured Photos 21 Images

Label for Featured Photo
Featured Photo
The panel of the Commission hearing on the Armenian Genocide: Van Z. Krikorian (L), Taner Akçam, Kenneth V. Hachikian (C), Karine Shnorhokian, and Elizabeth H. Prodromou (R). (April 2015)