Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe


An independant agency of the United States Government charged with monitoring and encouraging compliance with the Helsinki Final Act and other commitments of the 55 countries participating in the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).


234 Ford House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-6460
Christopher H. Smith, Chairman
Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
Media Contact: Shelly Han
January 31, 2012


WASHINGTON–The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission) announced today a briefing:

Moldova: The Growing Pains of Democracy

Tuesday, January 31, 2012
2:00 pm
2200 Rayburn House Office Building

Prolonged political stalemate in Moldova raises questions about the country’s ability to stay the course of reform despite the lack of immediate and gratifying results. At the same time, December’s election of Yevgeny Shevchuk – a new and younger face in Transnistria – has again raised hopes for normalization of the decades-old conflict with the breakaway region. Is Moldova’s political deadlock proof that the democratic process is working or evidence of a failing system? Is Russia losing the ability to impose its own flagging brand of “sovereign democracy” in nearby separatist enclaves? What can the United States do to encourage Moldova’s slow, but steady progress toward greater implementation of Helsinki commitments? Please join our distinguished panel for a timely discussion of recent developments in Moldova.

Witnesses Scheduled to Testify:

H.E. Igor Munteanu, Ambassador of Moldova to the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Brazil

Ambassador William Hill, Professor of National Security Strategy at the National War College and former Head of the OSCE Mission to Moldova

Mr. Matthew Rojansky, Deputy Director of the Russia and Eurasia Program at the Carnegie Endowment


The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the U.S. Helsinki Commission, is an independent agency of the Federal Government charged with monitoring compliance with the Helsinki Accords and advancing comprehensive security through promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental and military cooperation in 56 countries. The Commission consists of nine members from the U.S. Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce.


Recent Events

June 2015

April 2015

March 2015

February 2015

December 2014

November 2014

October 2014

July 2014

May 2014

Click here for the previous year's Events