Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe


An independant agency of the United States Government charged with monitoring and encouraging compliance with the Helsinki Final Act and other commitments of the 55 countries participating in the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

Press Releases

Hon. Christopher H. Smith, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
October 11, 2012


WASHINGTON–The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission) announced the following briefing:

Online Safety under Repressive Regimes: What is the Responsibility of Technology Companies?

Friday, October 19, 2012

10:00 am

Room 2203 Rayburn House Office Building

U.S. technology companies are increasingly aware of the risks of working in repressive countries where the internet has become a tool of censorship and surveillance. How these companies respond to these risks has life and death consequences for the activists who use these important communication tools. The Global Online Freedom Act (GOFA, H.R. 3605), introduced by Chairman Chris Smith (NJ-04), requires technology companies that are listed on U.S. stock exchanges to disclose their human rights due diligence policies. The measure is designed to provide users with information on how companies work with repressive governments so that they can safeguard their information and communications. The panel will address the current practices of tech companies, the role of the Global Network Initiative (GNI) in fostering greater transparency, as well as what additional actions companies should be taking to safeguard their users.

The following panelists are scheduled to participate:

Amol Mehra, Coordinator, International Corporate Accountability Roundtable

Susan Morgan, Executive Director, Global Network Initiative

Meg Roggensack, Senior Advisor, Human Rights First


The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the U.S. Helsinki Commission, is an independent agency of the Federal Government charged with monitoring compliance with the Helsinki Accords and advancing comprehensive security through promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental and military cooperation in 56 countries. The Commission consists of nine members from the U.S. Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce.

Media Contact: Shelly Han
# # #

Recent Press Releases

May 2016

April 2016

March 2016

Click here for the previous year's Press Releases