Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe
CSCE :: Press Release :: U.S. Helsinki Commission to hold briefing on elections in the Caucasus
Hon. Christopher H. Smith, Chairman
Hon. Benjamin L. Cardin, Co-Chairman
For Immediate Release
May 22, 2012


WASHINGTON—Today the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (U.S. Helsinki Commission) announced the following briefing:

Democratization in the Caucasus: Elections in Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

2:00-4:00 p.m.

334 Cannon House Office Building

The latest round of elections in the Caucasus has begun.  Armenia held parliamentary elections on May 6; Georgia’s parliamentary election follows in October, and Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia will hold presidential elections in 2013. 

Controversy has surrounded elections in the region in the past and may do so again, given political polarization and problematic government-opposition relations in all three countries.  This briefing will look at how far free and fair elections have come in the Caucasus, and what the United States can do to promote progress in upcoming elections.

Panelists Scheduled to Appear:

Tom de Waal, Senior Associate, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Dr. Cory Welt, Associate Director, Institute for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies, George Washington University

Christopher Walker, Vice President for Strategy and Analysis, Freedom House

Stephen B. Nix, Regional Director, Eurasia, International Republican Institute (IRI)

Anthony Bowyer, Program Manager, Caucasus and Central Asia, International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES)


The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the U.S. Helsinki Commission, is an independent agency of the Federal Government charged with monitoring compliance with the Helsinki Accords and advancing comprehensive security through promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental and military cooperation in 56 countries. The Commission consists of nine members from the U.S. Senate, nine from the House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce.

Media Contact: Shelly Han
# # #




Recent Press Releases

May 2015

January 2015

July 2014

September 2012

May 2012

February 2012

November 2011

August 2011

July 2011

Click here for the previous year's Press Releases